2018 #OceaniaRoad Championships: Road Race Preview

Two days of road races on the undulating Railton course in Northern Tasmania will crown the 2017 Oceania Road Champions with six titles on offer for men and women in elite, under 23 and under 19 categories.

With Olympian’s and National and Oceania Champions on the start line it will be exciting racing in what is expected to be wet conditions.

Day 1 (U19 men and U23 and Elite Women) Start List
Day 2 (U19 women and U23 and Elite Men) Start List

2017 Champions
Men: Lucas Hamilton (Australia)
Women: Lisen Hockings (Australia)

Sean Lake (Australia) will be looking to reclaim his title and again pull on the Oceania Champions jersey, after missing out on the time trial yesterday. The lone New Zealand rider in the field Jason Christie will be hoping to take the title over the Australian’s despite the deck being stacked against him. Rio Olympian Scott Bowden (Australia) and Cameron Bayly (Australia) will also be names to watch. Or can 2017 Tour of Tasmania winner Lionel Mawditt produce another amazing display on Tasmanian roads.

In the women’s Grace Brown leads the contenders after bronze at the Australian Championships, a top five at the Tour Down Under and a maiden Oceania title in the time trial yesterday. Time trial podium finishers Kate Perry (Australia) and Sharlotte Lucas (New Zealand) will be hoping to find the top step. While Justine Barrow will be looking to surprise.

Under 23
2017 Champions
Men: Lucas Hamilton (Australia)
Women: Jessica Pratt (Australia)

It has been an amazing start to 2018 for Grace Anderson (New Zealand) who won the under 23 New Zealand title and picked up the best young riders jersey at the Tour Down Under and is looking to add an Oceania title to her name. After flying in the time trial Mikayla Harvey (New Zealand) will be looking to take a second gold. Tasmanian local Renee Dykstra will head the Australian charge with Maeve Plouffe (Australia) another name to watch as is New Zealand’s Georgia Catterick.

The under 23 men’s race will see Australian Under 23 Champion Cyrus Monk look to add the Oceania crown to his name and after a fourth place finish in the time trial he is on form. Under 19 2017 New Zealand Champion will hope to grab the title for New Zealand and time trial winner Jake Marryatt (New Zealand) will be eager to add another gold to his name. Having missed the defence of his time trial title Liam Magennis (Australia) will come of firing as will Jason Lea (Australia) and Angus Lyons (Australia).

Under 19
2017 Champions
Men: Sebastian Berwick (Australia)
Women: Madeleine Fasnacht (Australia)

Australian Champion Tyler Lindorff leads the home charge in the under 19 men’s event and with silver and bronze medallists Ben Metcalfe and Carter Turnbull also in action expect strong competition in the Aussie ranks, with Luke Plapp (Australia) also targeting more success. 2017 New Zealand Under 17 National Champion Finn Fisher-Black will be hoping to step up to the under 19 ranks and add to his track success. As will Josh Lane (New Zealand) and Josh Kench (New Zealand) who claimed Tour victories last year.

2017 silver medallist Sarah Gigante will be hoping to add Oceania success to her rapidly growing palmares, with the Australian showing her talent riding away from the field at the Australian Championships, to win one of six Australian titles this year. Abigail Morton finished fourth at the Commonwealth Youth Games last year and will be eyeing the top spot on the podium. McKenzie Miline, Britney Kerr, Niamk Fisher-Black and Connie O’Brien continue the New Zealand charge though on home roads Anya Louw will be eager to finish on the podium as will Lauren Robards (Australia).