2018 #OceaniaRoad Championships: Time Trial Preview

Time trial competition will open the three days of racing in Tasmania with six titles set to be awarded across elite, under 23 and under for men and women.

Can Sean Lake (Australia) make it three in a row in the elite men’s or will rower turned cyclist Hamish Bond (New Zealand) have the perfect warm up for the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games. Rising stars will shine in the under 23 categories with Maeve Plouffe (Australia) hoping to add the under 23 title to her under 19 gold from 12 months ago while Liam Magennis (Australia) is chasing a second title.

With nearly 70 riders across men’s and women’s under 19 categories the battle for the Oceania title will be as hotly contested as ever and a chance for the future stars to impress.

Start List

2017 Champions
Men: Sean Lake (Australia)
Women: Lucy Kennedy (Australia)

Australia’s Sean Lake will be hunting for a third consecutive Oceania time trial title though will face strong competition from dual rowing Olympic gold medallist Hamish Bond (New Zealand) who will be looking to improve on his bronze a year ago in his final warm up for the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games.

Grace Brown and Kate Petty finished fourth and fifth at the Australian National Championships in January and will be looking to find the top step of the podium here, with Perry a former medallist. New Zealand’s Sharlotte Lucas is another name to keep a close eye on.

Under 23
2017 Champions
Men: Liam Magennis (Australia)
Women: Jaime Gunning (Australia)

2017 under 19 champion Maeve Plouffe (Australia) steps up to under 23 for the first team and heads in as the favourite for a second title. Libby Arbuckle (New Zealand) who finished second to Plouffe in the under 19 last year is also a name to watch as is former Oceania track champion Kate Smith (New Zealand) and Mikayla Harvey (New Zealand).

In the men’s Liam Magennis will be looking to make it two in a row though Jason Lea (Australia) and Cyrus Monk (Australia) who finished ahead of Magennis at the Australian Championships will be hoping to turn the tables and claim the title. Oscar Elworthy (New Zealand), Conor Leahy (Australia) and Alastair Christie-Johnston (Australia) are also contenders.

Under 19
2017 Champions
Men: Sebastian Berwick (Australia)
Women: Maeve Plouffe (Australia)

Luke Plapp (Australia) is looking to add the Oceania crown to his national title though Tyler Lindorff (Australia) who finished just two seconds behind will be eager to turn the tables. Mitchell Wright (Australia) who finished third last year is also a name likely to feature in the medals. New Zealand’s Josh Kench and Dylan Simpson will be looking to take the title home across the Tasman but Carter Turnbull (Australia) and Sam Briscoe (Australia) could also shine and in a near 50 rider field anyone could surprise.

Leading the hunt in the under 19 women’s is Sarah Gigante (Australia) who claimed the Australian title in January as one of six Australian titles she has won this year. Local favourite Anya Louw (Australia) will be hoping to grab Tasmania and Australia the title. The New Zealand charge comes with Niamh Fisher-Black and Annamarie Lipp, while Sophie Edwards and Lauren Robards add to the Australian strength.