Aaron Gate adds two gold on penultimate day of 2024 Oceania Track Championships

New Zealand’s Aaron Gate continued his stellar performance claiming two gold, to bring his tally to four on the penultimate day of the 2024 Oceania Track Championships in Cambridge New Zealand.

Gate put his track skills on display to win the omnium ahead of Graeme Frislie (Australia) and Joel Douglas (New Zealand). Before combining with Thomas Sexton to take a dominant victory in the Madison, with the pair scoring points in 19 of the 20 sprints.

Kristina Clonan secured her third gold of the Championships to sweep the sprint events, with a dominant display in the elite women’s time trial. The Australian stopped the clock in 33.411secs, more than half a second clear of Shaane Fulton (New Zealand) with Alessia McCaig completing the podium.

In the women’s Madison Bryony Botha and Michaela Drummond (New Zealand) added to their medal collection taking the title over teammates Samantha Donnelly and Ally Wollaston, with Claudia Marcks and Keira Will (New Zealand) rounding out the podium.

Tayte Ryan (Australia) set a new Oceania Championship Record of 1:01.519 in the junior men’s time trial. Daniel Morton and Bernard Pawson (New Zealand claimed the junior men’s Madison. New Zealand won both the junior women’s team pursuit and team sprint and Maya Mya Wolfenden (New Zealand) picked up gold in the junior women’s points race.

Para-cycling events continued with the flying 200m and scratch races. In the flying 200m it was Devon Briggs (New Zealand) taking the men’s C3 title, Ben Westenberg (New Zealand) in the C4 and Leuan Edwards (New Zealand) in the C5. Unity Collins (New Zealand) took out the women’s tandem, Sarah Ellington (New Zealand) the C2, Anna Taylor (New Zealand) C4 and Nicole Murray (New Zealand) the C5.

Results – Full Results
Elite Men Elimination Race
Gold: Aaron Gate (New Zealand)
Silver: Graeme Frislie (Australia)
Bronze: Joel Douglas (New Zealand)

Elite Men Madison
Gold: New Zealand – Aaron Gate and Thomas Sexton
Silver: New Zealand – George Jackson and Bailey O’Donnell
Bronze: New Zealand – Joel Douglas and Keegan Hornblow

Elite Women Time Trial
Gold: Kirstina Clonan (Australia)
Silver: Shaane Fulton (New Zealand)
Bronze: Alessia McCaig (Australia)

Elite Women Madison
Gold: New Zealand – Bryony Botha and Michaela Drummond
Silver: New Zealand – Samantha Donnelly and Ally Wollaston
Bronze: New Zealand – Claudia Marcks and Keira Will

Junior Men Time Trial
Gold: Tayte Ryan (Australia) 1:01.519 – Oceania Championship Record
Silver: Daniel Morton (New Zealand)
Bronze: Alex Schuler (New Zealand)

Junior Men Madison
Gold: New Zealand – Daniel Morton and Bernard Pawson
Silver: New Zealand – Kane Foster and Magus Jamieson
Bronze: Australia – Oscar Gallagher and Luke Richert

Junior Women Team Pursuit
Gold: New Zealand – Sienna Luskott, Sophie Maxwell, Mya Wolfenden and Elena Worrall
Silver: Australia – Hayley Dell, Lilyth Jones, Caitlin Rose and Sonia Vetisch

Junior Women Team Sprint
Gold: New Zealand – Jodie Blackwood, Caitlin Kelly and Zadie Scott
Silver: Australia – Maya Dillion, Ella Liang and Liliya Tatarinoff

Junior Women Points Race
Gold: Mya Wolfenden (New Zealand)
Silver: Elena Worrall (New Zealand)
Bronze: Sophie Maxwell (New Zealand)

Para Flying 200m
Men C3: Devon Briggs (New Zealand)
Men C4: Ben Westenberg (New Zealand)
Men C5: Leuan Edwards (New Zealand)
Women B: Unity Collins (New Zealand)
Women C2: Sarah Ellington (New Zealand)
Women C4: Anna Taylor (New Zealand)
Women C5: Nicole Murray (New Zealand)

Para Scratch Race
Men C1-5: Devon Briggs (New Zealand)
Women C1-5: Nicole Murray (New Zealand)