Aaron Gate and Isabelle Carnes claim 2024 Oceania time trial titles

Aaron Gate (New Zealand) and Isabelle Carnes (Australia) dominated to claim the 2024 Oceania elite time trial titles in Brisbane, Saturday 13, 2024.

Gate was dominant stopping the clock in 24:22, to claim gold and his sixth Oceania title of the year, having won a record five titles on the track in February. Silver went to Oli Stenning (Australia), 41 seconds back, with 2019 Champion Ben Dyball (Australia) completing the podium a further 50 seconds back.

In the elite women’s race it was a case of a third title in three years for Carnes, who claimed her first elite title, having won the under 23 crown in 2023 and under 19 crown in 2022. Her time was nearly half a minute clear of silver medallist at road race champion Katelyn Nicholson (Australia), while Maddison Taylor (Australia) round out the top three.

Jackson Medway (Australia) claimed gold in the under 23 men’s race ahead of New Zealand paid Lucas Murphy and Guy Yarrell. In the women’s Sophia Sammons lead an all Australian podium ahead of 2023 under 19 road race champion, while Haylee Fuller claimed back to back bronze medals.

Victory in the under 19 women’s, saw Lilyth Jones (Australia) with her fourth Oceania title of 2024, after she won the individual pursuit, elimination race and Madison at the Track Championships in Cambridge. Completing the podium was Kirsty Watts (New Zealand) and Nicole Duncan (Australia). New Zealand’s Reef Roberts was too strong in the under 19 men’s race beating out Jack Clark (Australia) and Oliver Scott.

ResultsFull Results
Elite Men
Gold: Aaron Gate (New Zealand)
Silver: Oli Stenning (Australia)
Bronze: Benjamin Dyball (Australia)

Elite Women
Gold: Isabelle Carnes (Australia)
Silver: Katelyn Nicholson (Australia)
Bronze: Maddison Taylor (Australia)

Under 23 Men
Gold: Jackson Medway (Australia)
Silver: Lucas Murphy (New Zealand)
Bronze: Guy Yarrell (New Zealand)

Under 23 Women
Gold: Sophia Sammons (Australia)
Silver: Talia Appleton (Australia)
Bronze: Haylee Fuller (Australia)

Under 19 Men
Gold: Reef Roberts (New Zealand)
Silver: Jack Clark (Australia)
Bronze: Oliver Scott (New Zealand)

Under 19 Women
Gold: Lilyth Jones (Australia)
Silver: Kirsty Watts (New Zealand)
Bronze: Nicole Duncan (Australia)

Men H3: Alexander Welsh (Australia)
Men C3: Kyle Willis (Australia)
Men C4: James Cracknell (Australia)
Women B: Lily Picoolo and Kelly Wright (pilot) (Australia)