Australia dominates day three of 2023 Oceania Track Championships

Australia dominated the third day of competition, winning all four elite events at the 2023 Oceania Track Championships at the Anna Meares Velodrome in Brisbane.

Matt Richardson (Australia) continued his dominance of the sprint events winning the keirin, adding to his sprint and team sprint success. His success makes it the third championships in a row where one individual has won gold in all three, following Matt Glaetzer last year and Sam Webster in 2020. Bronze went to James Brister and Glaetzer for an all Australian podium.

In the women’s keirin Kristina Clonan, caused an upset to take gold and reverse the 2022 result over Olympic silver medallist Ellesse Andrews (New Zealand). For Clonan a team sprint and Madison gold medallist, it was her first individual elite Oceania title. Bronze went to Selina Ho (Australia).

Chloe Moran (Australia) claimed her third title to the Championships with the women’s omnium crown ahead of Emily Shearman (New Zealand) and Sophie Edwards (Australia). Australia’s John Carter who broke through for a maiden Oceania title ahead of Tom Sexton (New Zealand) and Conor Leahy (Australia) in the men’s omnium.

In under 19 events Nicole Duncan and Keira Will (Australia) took out the women’s Madison and Liliya Tatarinoff (Australia) won the 500m time trial. James Gardner (New Zealand) emerged victorious in the points race, while Australia won the team sprint through Noah Mason, Jaydan Stanton-Keir and Xavier Bland. Oscar Gallagher, Alex Eaves, Hayden Van der Ploeg and Noah Blannin (Australia) claimed the team pursuit title.

Para time trials were decided with Gordon Allan (Australia) winning the C2, David Nicholas (Australia) C3, Luke Taylor (Australia) C4, Michael Shippley (Australia) C5 and Beau Wootton and Byron Davies (Australia) the tandem in the men’s categories. While in the women’s Kaitlyn Schurmann (Australia) claimed the C1, Amanda Reid (Australia) C2, Emma Mickle (Australia) C3, Sharon Boyd (Australia) C4, Erin Rowell (AUS) C5 and Jessica Gallagher and Caitlin Ward the tandem title.

2023 Oceania Track Medallists
Elite Men Keirin
Gold: Matt Richardson (AUS)
Silver: James Brister (AUS)
Bronze: Matt Glaetzer (AUS)

Elite Women Keirin
Gold: Kristina Clonan (AUS)
Silver: Ellesse Andrews (NZL)
Bronze: Selina Ho (AUS)

Elite Men Omnium
Gold: John Carter (AUS)
Silver: Tom Sexton (NZL)
Bronze: Conor Leahy (AUS)

Elite Women Omnium
Gold: Chloe Moran (AUS)
Silver: Emily Shearman (NZL)
Bronze: Sophie Edwards (AUS)

Under 19 Men Points Race
Gold: James Gardner (NZL)
Silver: Matthew Davidson (NZL)
Bronze: Noah Blannin (AUS)

Under 19 Women Madison
Gold: Nicole Duncan and Keira Will (AUS)
Silver: Belinda Bailey and Lilyth Jones (AUS)
Bronze: Georgia Simpson and Caitlin Kelly (NZL)

Under 19 Women 500m Time Trial
Gold: Liliya Tatarinoff (AUS)
Silver: Jodie Blackwood (NZL)
Bronze: Meghan Baker (NZL)

Under 19 Men Team Sprint
Gold: Noah Mason, Jaydan Stanton-Keir and Xavier Bland (AUS)
Silver: George Manson, Conrad Clark and Liam Ramsey (NZL)
Bronze: Wolf Pene, Hamish Banks and Wilson Hannon (NZL)

Under 19 Men Team Pursuit
Gold: Oscar Gallagher, Alex Eaves, Hayden Van der Ploeg and Noah Blannin (AUS)
Silver: James Gardner, Kane Foster, Marshall Erwood and Magnus Jamieson (NZL)
Bronze: Lawson Franzmann, Lachlan Oliver, Kai Goltman and Luke Richert (AUS)

Para Time Trial
Men C2: Gordon Allan (AUS)
Men C3: David Nicholas (AUS)
Men C4: Luke Taylor (AUS)
Men C5: Michael Shippley (AUS)
Women C1: Kaitlyn Schurmann (AUS)
Women C2: Amanda Reid (AUS)
Women C3: Emma Mickle (AUS)
Women C4: Sharon Boyd (AUS)
Women C5: Erin Rowell (AUS)
Men Tandem: Jessica Gallagher and Caitlin Ward (AUS)
Women Tandem: Beau Wootton and Byron Davies (AUS)


The 2023 Oceania Championships are supported by AusCycling, Tourism and Events Queensland and Brisbane Economic Development Agency.