Ben Dyball does the double with road race win

Ben Dyball (Australia) completed a golden double on the final day of competition at the 2019 Oceania Road Championships in Tasmania, March 17. The under 23 men’s crown was taken out by Tyler Lindorff of Australia as New Zealand’s Ella Wyllie picked up the under 19 women’s title.

Elite/Under 23 Men’s Road Race

Australia’s Ben Dyball was is fine form as he attacked with around 40 kilometres to go to solo to a convincing win ahead of New Zealand’s Jason Christie and defending champion Chris Harper (Australia).

“It was a relief when I finally crossed the line. I had a decent gap in the end but the last 10km was pretty hard,” Dyball said.

“I didn’t want to be trying to have to chase back breaks, so I wanted to be at the front from the start,” Dyball added of his tactic of being part of the move from the opening kilometres.

“I attacked on the climb the second last lap and once I got a gap I got in my own rhythm. The gap kept going out, so I was able to relax a bit in the final few kilometres.”

As soon as the gun started the action was on in the 158 kilometre race covering six laps of the undulating course around Railton. The first attack of the day was from defending champion Harper who looked to animate the race from the start. Harper was joined by Michael Potter (Australia), Kaine Cannan (Australia), Drew Morey (Australia), Ben Metcalfe (Australia), Tim Cameron (Australia), Jay Vine (Australia), Liam Magennis (Australia), Campbell Jones (Australia), Dylan Sunderland (Australia), Matthew Dinham (Australia), Ryan Thomas (Australia), Christie and Dyball.

The 14 rider group became 17 on the second lap with Morgan Smith (Australia), Lionel Mawditt (Australia) and Logan Griffin (Australia) bridging across. Working well together the break established a one minute and 45 second lead with two laps of the course complete, as the peloton worked together to keep them in check.

Unhappy with the composition of the group Harper was again the aggressor as he looked to show his status as the defending champion. As the group behind reacted to Harper’s move only Christie, Dyball, Griffin, Morey, Thomas, Vine and Sunderland were able to keep the pace as 17 whittled down to eight. The smaller group was able to work well together and steadily built an advantage of 50 seconds on the chasers and a further 30 seconds on the quickly reducing peloton.

With the race inside on the penultimate lap Dyball sensed his chance and attacked on the climb on lap five and quickly soloed away with rest of the break unable to respond. Harper, Christie and Morey set off in pursuit though Dyball quickly showed the form that won him the time trial gold with the advantage quickly growing.

As the bell sounded Dyball was clear by two and a half minutes with the peloton a further two minutes back. Attacks came from both the chase and peloton though each move proved to be short lived. Dyball had plenty of time to celebrate as he crossed the line clear by more than four minutes. In the sprint for silver Harper was the first to open though the uphill drag to the line allowed Christie to claw his way over the top to add a second silver to his name with Harper completing the podium.

The under 23 crown was taking out by Tyler Lindorff (Australia) ahead of Michael Potter (Australia) and bronze Peter Livingstone (Australia).

Elite Men
Gold: Benjamin DYBALL (AUS)
Silver: Jason CHRISTIE (NZL)
Bronze: Chris HARPER (AUS)

Under 23 Men
Gold: Tyler LINDORFF (AUS)
Silver: Michael POTTER (AUS)

Under 19 Women’s Road Race

New Zealand’s Ella Wyllie stormed clear in the final corner to sprint away to the title ahead of countrywoman Hannah Bartram with Neve Bradbury (Australia) completing the podium.

The pace was on early on lap one of the three lap 79 kilometre race with a 10 rider group of Francesca Sewell (Australia), Catelyn Turner (Australia), Lee Boon (New Zealand), Stella Nightingale (New Zealand), Lucy Thomson (New Zealand), Henrietta Christie (New Zealand), Jorja Swain (New Zealand), Bradbury and Bartram and Wyllie going clear.

The strength of the rising stars within Oceania was evident with riders continually testing each other with attacks throughout the course.

On the final lap six remained with Sewell, Turner, Bradbury, Bartram, Christie and Wyllie continuing to test each other throughout the lap. Every attack was quickly marked as the lead group raced towards the finish. A late move by Wyllie in the final kilometre saw her hit the final corner ahead of the group, giving her the advantage she needed to seal the title. Bartram lead the sprint home just head ahead of Bradbury.

Under 19 Women
Gold: Ella WYLLIE (NZL)
Silver: Hannah BARTRAM (NZL)
Bronze: Neve BRADBURY (AUS)