Cure and Edmondson win first women’s Madison title on final day of 2017 Oceania Track Championships

History was made on the final day of the 2017 Oceania Track Championships with the first ever women’s Madison title awarded to Amy Cure and Annette Edmondson (Australia) who managed to hold off Michaela Drummond and Racquel Sheath (New Zealand).

The sprinters saved some of the best for last with Edward Dawkins (New Zealand) proving his status as one of the best in the world with keirin gold. Kaarle McCulloch (Australia) returned to her best taking out the sprint.

There was plenty of action in the under 19 events as Kye Bonser (Australia) made it four from four with gold in the keirin. Jade Haines (Australia) picked up gold number two in the scratch. Stephen Cuff (Australia) added the points title to his scratch gold.

2017 Oceania Champions

Men Madison: Kelland O’Brien & Callum Scotson (AUS)
Men Keirin: Edward Dawkins (NZL)
Women Madison: Amy Cure & Annette Edmondson (AUS)
Women Sprint: Kaarle McCulloch (AUS)

Under 19
Men Points Race: Stephen Cuff (AUS)
Men Keirin: Kye Bonser (AUS)
Women Scratch Race: Jade Haines (AUS)

Photos: Con Chronis