Following major reforms over eight years, OCC President Tracey Gaudry signals it’s time for change

Since 2013 the Oceania Cycling Confederation (OCC) more than doubled in Federation Membership, growing from four Member Federations to ten, comprising seven full Members – Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji, Guam, New Zealand, Samoa and Vanuatu and three associate Members – New Caledonia, Northern Mariana Islands and Tahiti. All Pacific Island Members have benefited from UCI and OCC Solidarity programs.

The progressive environment in the Oceania has seen the region at the forefront of governance reform, with current OCC President Tracey Gaudry becoming the first female elected as President of any UCI Continental Confederation. Gaudry was subsequently elected by the UCI Management Committee to serve as UCI Vice President from 2013-2017 while concurrently serving as the inaugural President of the UCI Advocacy and Women’s Commissions.

The OCC and Gaudry have played a significant role in cycling’s reform, with improvements in both governance and competition evident. Oceania is now represented by two members on the UCI Management Committee and enjoys representation on numerous commissions and advisory bodies. The Oceania region has enjoyed a strong resurgence in the number and status of UCI Championships and UCI sanctioned events across all disciplines including UCI World Championships, UCI WorldTour and UCI Women’s WorldTour events. Globally, women’s cycling has taken great strides, in governance with the inclusion of mandated gender diversity across UCI and continental governance, in the promotion and participation of women in management, administration and technical roles, and at sporting level across all disciplines including participation and prize money, welfare, professionalism of women’s road cycling, and the establishment of the UCI Women’s WorldTour.

However, with progress comes change. OCC President Tracey Gaudry announced at the most recent OCC General Meeting that she would not be standing for re-election for a third consecutive term as OCC President. Gaudry was first elected in November 2012.