Frew, A’hern, Pene and Voysey claim 2019 Oceania Downhill Mountain Bike titles

Australia’s Jackson Frew and Sian A’hern claimed the elite downhill titles as Tuhoto-Ariki Pene (New Zealand) and Cassie Voysey (Australia) took under 19 gold at the 2019 Oceania Mountain Bike Championships in Bright, Victoria, Australia, April 10.


Jackson Frew won a hotly contested elite men’s Downhill in 3mins 27.155secs edging out Connor Fearon by less than a second with Ben Zwar completing an all Australian podium.

“I am still a bit surprised it hasn’t really sunk in yet. I honestly didn’t think that run would be good enough but wow apparently it was,” an overwhelmed Frew said.

“Nothing went wrong I just didn’t think it was going to be enough. There is such a strong field these days in elite, so I just didn’t think it was quite fast enough.

“It is a massive confidence boost as we head in to the first World Cup in a couple of weeks. It is awesome for me and it feels really good and just hope I can keep it rolling.”

Sian A’hern (Australia) stormed home to collect gold in 4mins 5.136secs ahead of Tegan Molloy (Australia).

“Pretty awesome. I was very tired coming in to this whole week so I’m really happy to just keep it all smooth,” A’hern explained.

Under 19

Tuhoto-Ariki Pene took a dominant win in the under 19 men’s race stopping the clock in 3mins 25.440secs nearly five seconds clear of silver medallist Ethan Corney (Australia) with Luke Meier-Smith (Australia) rounding out the top three.

“It is unreal. It was loose the whole way down. It was different to New Zealand I don’t have rocks in my home town. It has been fun aye. The whole week has been awesome,” said Tuhoto-Ariki.

In the women’s Cassie Voysey added the Oceania jersey to her Australian title.

2019 Oceania Mountain Bike Medallists

Full Results

Elite Men Downhill
1 Jackson Frew (Australia) 3:27.155
2 Connor Fearon (Australia) 3:28.104
3 Ben Zwar (Australia) 3:29.104

Elite Women Downhill
1 Sian A’hern (Australia) 4:05.136
2 Tegan Molloy (Australia) 4:30.436

Under 19 Men Downhill
1 Tuhoto-Ariki Pene (New Zealand) 3:25.440
2 Ethan Corney (Australia) 3:30.143
3 Luke Meier-Smith (Australia) 3:32.323

Under 19 Women Downhill
1 Cassie Voysey (Australia) 4:59.218