Gate and Cure claim omnium crowns on day three of 2017 Oceania Track Championships

Day three of the 2017 Oceania Track Championships saw the start of the sprint competitions with Sam Webster upsetting local favourite Matt Glaetzer (Australia) for his second title of the week.

In the omnium New Zealand’s former world champion Aaron Gate impressed to reclaim his oceania title. With Amy Cure winning the women’s to add another title to her name.

In a thrilling finish to the under 19 women’s omnium Jade Haines (Australia) clinched victory in the final sprint, depriving Ellesse Andrews for a fourth gold. Brooklyn Vonderwall (Australia) added under 19 sprint success to her keirin title with Tyler Lindorff (Australia) and Kye Bonser (Australia) each adding a second gold to their name in the sprint and individual pursuit respectively.

2017 Oceania Champions

Men Sprint: Sam Webster (NZL)
Men Omnium: Aaron Gate (NZL)
Women Omnium: Amy Cure (AUS)

Under 19
Men Individual Pursuit: Tyler Lindorff (AUS)
Men Sprint: Kye Bonser (AUS)
Women Omnium: Jade Haines (AUS)
Women Sprint: Brooklyn Vonderwall (AUS)

Photos: Con Chronis