Josie Talbot and James Fouche crowned 2022 Oceania Road Champions

Australia’s Josie Talbot and New Zealand’s James Fouche have claimed elite road race titles at the 2022 Oceania Road Championships in Brisbane. Part of the inaugural combined Oceania Championships in Brisbane, Queensland hosted by the Oceania Cycling Confederation, AusCycling, Tourism and Events Queensland and Brisbane Economic Development Agency from 19 March – April 10, 2022, as a part of the Brisbane Cycling Festival presented by King St

In the elite women’s race a five-rider group heading towards the finish, with track star Josie Talbot (Australia) leading from the front and her turn of speed delivered her to a maiden elite title, having claimed the junior title in 2013. Silver went to Danielle De Francesco (Australia) with time trial bronze medallist Amber Pate (Australia) completing the podium.

New Zealand national champion James Fouche produced another stellar performance to add the Oceania title to his palmares. Countryman Thomas Sexton added silver to his name with Zack Gilmore (Australia) taking the bronze.

New Zealand’s Ella Wyllie claimed gold in the under 23 women’s race beating out time trial champion Anya Louw (Australia) with Annamarie Lipp (New Zealand) completing the podium. In the under 23 men’s Brady Gilmore won gold in an all Australian podium ahead of Dylan George and Matthew Dinham.

In the under 19 categories Belinda Bailey (Australia) was too strong in the women’s taking the title ahead of Bronte Stewart (Australia) and Mackenzie Coupland (Australia). Oscar Chamberlain led home an Australian 1-2 ahead of Cameron Rogers with Toby Evans of New Zealand taking bronze in the men’s.

Para titles went to Darren Hicks C2 (Australia), Kyle Willis C3 (Australia), Alex Welsh H3 (Australia), Grant Allen H4 (Australia), Stuart Tripp H5 (Australia), Andrew Bannister T2 (Australia) and Kevin O’Meley Tandem (Australia) in men’s. Kaitlyn Schurmann C1 (Australia), Amanda Reid C2 (Australia), Paige Greco C3 (Australia), Meg Lemon C4 (Australia), Nicole Murray C5 (New Zealand), Lauren Parker H3 (Australia), Carol Cooke T2 (Australia) and Candice Kennedy Tandem (Australia) claimed gold in the women’s.

2022 Oceania Road Race Medallists
Elite Women
GOLD: Josie Talbot (Australia)
SILVER: Danielle De Francesco (Australia)
BRONZE: Amber Pate (Australia)

Elite Men
GOLD: James Fouche (New Zealand)
SILVER: Thomas Sexton (New Zealand)
BRONZE: Zack Gilmore (Australia)

Under 23 Women
GOLD: Ella Wyllie (New Zealand)
SILVER: Anya Louw (Australia)
BRONZE: Annamarie Lipp (New Zealand)

Under 23 Men
GOLD: Brady Gilmore (Australia)
SILVER: Dylan George (Australia)
BRONZE: Matthew Dinham (Australia)

Under 19 Women
GOLD: Belinda Bailey (Australia)
SILVER: Bronte Stewart (Australia)
BRONZE: Mackenzie Coupland (Australia)

Under 19 Men
GOLD: Oscar Chamberlain (Australia)
SILVER: Cameron Rogers (Australia)
BRONZE: Toby Evans (New Zealand)

Men C2: Darren Hicks (Australia)
Men C3: Kyle Willis (Australia)
Men H3: Alex Welsh (Australia)
Men H4: Grant Allen (Australia)
Men H5: Stuart Tripp (Australia)
Men T2: Andrew Bannister (Australia)
Men Tandem: Kevin O’Meley (Australia)
Women C1: Kaitlyn Schurmann (Australia)
Women C2: Amanda Reid (Australia)
Women C3: Paige Greco (Australia)
Women C4: Meg Lemon (Australia)
Women C5: Nicole Murray (New Zealand)
Women H3: Lauren Parker (Australia)
Women T2: Carol Cooke (Australia)
Women Tandem: Candice Kennedy (Australia)

Full Results