Katelyn Nicholson and Ryan Cavanagh claim gold at 2024 Oceania Road Championships

Australia’s Katelyn Nicholson and Ryan Cavanagh produced outstanding displays to claim elite road race gold and the Oceania Champions title at the 2024 Oceania Road Championships in Brisbane, Saturday 13, 2024.

In the elite women’s race, Nicholson powered away to claim a solo victory and the 2024 Oceania crown. Second went to fellow Australian Keely Bennett, who claimed elite silver and an Oceania Championship first as the first rider to win back-to-back under 23 women’s road race crowns. Haylee Fuller (Australia) finished with elite bronze and under 23 silver with Savannah Coupland (Australia) rounding out the under 23 podium.

Cavanagh tasted success in the men’s race powering to the title ahead of Matthew Greenwood (Australia) who won the under 23 title with. New Zealand’s Aaron Gate collected bronze, his sixth Oceania medal of 2024. The under 23 men’s podium was completed by Jackson Medway (Australia) with silver and Jack Ward (Australia) with bronze.

In the under 19 races Max Goold (Australia) took the win solo ahead of Finlay McRobbie (Australia) who lead home the chasing bunch, with bronze going to Joshua Cavanagh (New Zealand). Lauren Bates (Australia) was too strong in the women’s cruising to victory by over a minute. The podium was completed by Kirsty Watts (Australia) and Alex Rawlinson (New Zealand).

ResultsFull Results
Elite Men
Gold: Ryan Cavanagh (Australia)
Silver: Matthew Greenwood (Australia)
Bronze: Aaron Gate (New Zealand)

Elite Women
Gold: Katelyn Nicholson (Australia)
Silver: Keely Bennett (Australia)
Bronze: Haylee Fuller (Australia)

Under 23 Men
Gold: Matthew Greenwood (Australia)
Silver: Jackson Medway (Australia)
Bronze: Jack Ward (Australia)

Under 23 Women
Gold: Keely Bennett (Australia)
Silver: Haylee Fuller (Australia)
Bronze: Savannah Coupland (Australia)

Under 19 Men
Gold: Max Goold (Australia)
Silver: Finlay McRobbie (Australia)
Bronze: Joshua Cavanagh (New Zealand)

Under 19 Women
Gold: Lauren Bates (Australia)
Silver: Kirsty Watts (New Zealand)
Bronze: Alex Rawlinson (New Zealand)

Men H3: Alexander Welsh (Australia)
Men C3: Kyle Willis (Australia)
Men C4: James Cracknell (Australia)
Women B: Lily Picoolo and Kelly Wright (pilot) (Australia)