Matt Richardson and Ellesse Andrews claim sprint gold on day two of the 2023 Oceania Track Championships

Australia and New Zealand shared the elite titles on day two of the 2023 Oceania Track Championships in the Anna Meares Velodrome in Brisbane, Australia.

World Championship silver medallist Matthew Richardson (Australia) became just the third person to claim the Oceania men’s sprint title since 2011.

With the last nine titles shared between Matthew Glaetzer (Australia) and Sam Webster (New Zealand).Richardson dominated the competition from start to finish are smashing qualifying in 9.547, just off the Oceania Championship Record before easily advancing through the rounds, before dispatching silver medallist Leigh Hoffman (Australia) in the gold medal ride. Five-time Oceania Champion Glaetzer made it an all Australian podium in bronze.

In the women’s sprint, New Zealand’s Ellesse Andrews confirmed her status as the top sprinter in Oceania as she successfully defended her title. Having qualified fastest in 10.732, two tenths off the Oceania Championship Record she defeated Kristina Clonan (Australia) in the final. Breanna Hargrave claimed bronze, repeating the 2022 podium.

Bryony Botha (New Zealand) was in a league of her own in the women’s individual pursuit as she raced to gold in 3mins 21.425sec, ahead of teammate Emily Shearman and Claudia Marcks (Australia). In the men’s individual pursuit James Moriarty (Australia) snared the title in 4mins 9.955secs ahead of Tom Sexton (New Zealand) and Keegan Hornblow (New Zealand).

Individual pursuit titles were awarded in para-cycling. In the men’s events Darren Hicks (Australia) took the men’s C2, David Nicholas (Australia) C3, Luke Taylor (Australia) C4, Leuan Edwards (New Zealand) C5 and Steven Kemp and Peter Spencer in the tandem.

Tahlia Clayton-Goodie (Australia) took out the C1, Annaliese Hodge (Australia) C2, Paige Greco (Australia) C3, Alana Forster (Australia) C4, Erin Rowell (Australia) C5 and Candice Kennedy and Kelly Fettes (Australia) tandem in the women’s events.

Under 19 scratch race titles went to Marshall Erwood (New Zealand) in the men’s event and Lilyth Jones (Australia) in the women’s.

2023 Oceania Track Medallists
Elite Women Sprint
Gold: Ellesse Andrews (NZL)
Silver: Kristina Clonan (AUS)
Bronze: Breanna Hargrave (AUS)

Elite Men Sprint
Gold: Matthew Richardson (AUS)
Silver: Leigh Hoffman (AUS)
Bronze: Mathew Glaetzer (AUS)

Elite Men Individual Pursuit
Gold: James Moriarty (AUS)
Silver: Tom Sexton (NZL)
Bronze: Keegan Hornblow (NZL)

Elite Women Individual Pursuit
Gold: Bryony Botha (NZL)
Silver: Emily Shearman (NZL)
Bronze: Claudia Marcks (AUS)

Under 19 Men Scratch Race
Gold: Marshall Erwood (NZL)
Silver: Austin Norwell (NZL)
Bronze: Oscar Gallagher (AUS)

Under 19 Women Scratch Race
Gold: Lilyth Jones (AUS)
Silver: Sally Carter (AUS)
Bronze: Nicole Duncan (AUS)

Para Individual Pursuit
Men C2: Darren Hicks (AUS)
Men C3: David Nicholas (AUS)
Men C4: Luke Taylor (AUS)
Men C5: Leuan Edwards (NZL)
Women C1: Tahlia Clayton-Goodie (AUS)
Women C2: Annaliese Hodge (AUS)
Women C3: Paige Greco (AUS)
Women C4: Alana Forster (AUS)
Women C5: Erin Rowell (AUS)
Men Tandem: Steven Kemp and Peter Spencer (AUS)
Women Tandem: Candice Kennedy and Kelly Fettes (AUS)

Full Results

The 2023 Oceania Championships are supported by AusCycling, Tourism and Events Queensland and Brisbane Economic Development Agency.