Mitchelton-SCOTT becomes first team from Oceania to win a Grand Tour with Giro Rosa success

Mitchelton-Scott made history as the first team from Oceania to win a Grand Tour, as Annemiek van Vleuten climbed to victory at the Giro Rosa, in Italy, Sunday June 15.

Van Vleuten the current time trial world champion and 2017 winner of the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race, one of three UCI women’s races in Oceania, dominated the 10-day race winning three stages on route to the overall title and the points classification.

Amanda Spratt became the third Australian rider to stand on the podium in third, following in the footsteps of Elizabeth Hepple (second in 1988) and Olympic gold medallist and Oceania Champion Kathy Watt (2nd 1994 and 3rd 1990). In addition to third overall, Spratt also soloed to a stage win, a day in the pink jersey and victory in the mountains classification.

Olympic track medallist Jolien D’hoore of Belgium added another two stage wins to the Australian team bringing the tally to six.