New Zealand’s Tom Sexton and Georgia Perry claim 2023 Oceania time trial titles

New Zealand’s Tom Sexton and Georgia Perry claimed gold in the elite time trials at the 2023 Oceania Time Trial Championships in Brisbane.

2022 silver medallist Sexton powered to the gold to claim his first elite road title. He was more than half a minute clear of silver medallist Jordan Villani (Australia) with Riley Fleming (Australia) completing the podium a further 20 seconds back.

In the elite women’s race Perry lead a New Zealand one-two finish with Bronwyn MacGregor taking silver a minute behind as Australia’s Celestine Franz collected bronze a further eight seconds back.

Australian pair Brady Gilmore and Isabelle Carnes claimed the under 23 titles. It was the same situation in the under 19 races with Australia’s Wil Holmes and Felicity Wilson-Haffenden taking gold.

In the para cycling Darren Hicks (Australia) took gold in the C2, David Nicholas (Australia) C3, Jordan Milroy (New Zealand) T1, Declan Hart (Australia) T2, Alex Welsh (Australia) H3, Grant Allen (Australia) H4 and Steven Kemp and Peter Spencer (Australia) tandem in the men’s.

Women’s titles went to Kaitlyn Schurmann (Australia) C1, Paige Greco (Australia) C3, Meg Lemon (Australia) C4, Julie Hooper (Australia) C5, Lauren Parker (Australia) H3 and Candice Kennedy and Kelly Fettes in the tandem.

2023 Oceania Road Time Trial Medallists
Elite Men
Gold: Tom Sexton (NZL)
Silver: Jordan Villani (AUS)
Bronze: Riley Fleming (AUS)

Elite Women
Gold: Georgia Perry (NZL)
Silver: Bronwyn MacGregor (NZL)
Bronze: Celestine Franz (AUS)

Under 23 Men
Gold: Brady Gilmore (AUS)
Silver: Hamish McKenzie (AUS)
Bronze: Oliver Bleddyn (AUS)

Under 23 Women
Gold: Isabelle Carnes (AUS)
Silver: Alli Anderson (AUS)
Bronze: Haylee Fuller (AUS)

Under 19 Men
Gold: Wil Holmes (AUS)
Silver: Josh Cranage (AUS)
Bronze: Noah Hollamny (NZL)

Under 19 Women
Gold: Felicity Wilson-Haffenden (AUS)
Silver: Mackenzie Coupland (AUS)
Bronze: Keira Will (AUS)

Para Champions
Men C2: Darren Hicks (AUS)
Men C3: David Nicholas (AUS)
Women C1: Kaitlyn Schurmann (AUS)
Women C3: Paige Greco (AUS)
Women C4: Meg Lemon (AUS)
Women C5: Julie Hooper (AUS)
Men T1: Jordan Milroy (NZL)
Men T2: Declan Hart (AUS)
Men H3: Alex Welsh (AUS)
Men H4: Grant Allen (AUS)
Women H3: Lauren Parker (AUS)
Men Tandem: Steven Kemp and Peter Spencer (AUS)
Women Tandem: Candice Kennedy and Kelly Fettes (AUS)

Full Results

The 2023 Oceania Championships are supported by AusCycling, Tourism and Events Queensland and Brisbane Economic Development Agency.