Oceania riders win 17 gold at 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games

Oceania riders finished the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games with 17 gold medals, 14 to Australia and three to New Zealand from 26 events across track, road and mountain bike. With 40 medals of a possible 74, Oceania riders dominated the competition in a sign of continued strength in cycling in Oceania.

Following a successful track campaign over the opening four days Australia swept the road events with 2013 Oceania Champion Cameron Meyer and 2015 and 2016 Oceania time trial champion Katrin Garfoot storming to victory in the time trial on Tuesday, before Chloe Hosking and Steel Von Hoff added the road race crowns on Saturday.

Recently crowned Oceania time trial champion Hamish Bond claimed bronze in the time trial, just over two years from switching to cycling from rowing and Linda Villumsen also grabbed silver in the race against the clock. In the women’s road race New Zealand national champion Georgia Williams took silver, with Sharlotte Lucas, the recently crowned Oceania road champion finishing fourth.

Success in the Mountain Bike saw two time Oceania Champion at under 19 and under 23 level Sam Gaze of New Zealand on top of the podium with three time reigning Oceania Champion Anton Cooper claiming silver, reversing the result from four years ago.

“Congratulations to all the Oceania medallists and competitors in cycling events on an excellent showing at the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games,” said Oceania Cycling Confederation President and UCI Management Committee Member, Tracey Gaudry.

“The performances of Oceania cyclists across Track, Road and Mountain Bike with current and former Oceania Champions on the podium in all disciplines illustrates the strength of cycling in Oceania.

“Cycling was a significant part of the Games’ sport program with spectacular venues spanning the region from Brisbane to Nerang to Currumbin, competition taking place on seven out of 11 days, cyclists from every continent competing, and cycling medals in both able-bodied and para-cycling events forming nearly ten percent of the total medal count across all sports.

“The Oceania Cycling Confederation congratulates the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games Corporation, staff, officials and volunteers on staging an exceptional Commonwealth Games – a truly world class event in our region.” concluded Gaudry.

Oceania Medallists at the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games


Gold: Cameron Meyer – Time trial
Gold: Steel von Hoff – Road race
Bronze: Hamish Bond – Time trial

Gold: Katrin Garfoot – Time trial
Gold: Chloe Hosking – Road race
Silver: Linda Villumsen – Time trial
Silver: Georgia Williams – Road race


Gold: Sam Webster – Sprint
Gold: Matthew Glaetzer – Keirin
Gold: Matthew Glaetzer – 1km time trial
Gold: Edward Dawkins, Ethan Mitchell and Sam Webster – Team sprint
Gold: Sam Welsford – Scratch race
Gold: Alex Porter, Sam Welsford, Leigh Howard, Kelland O’Brien and Jordan Kerby – Team pursuit
Silver: Edward Dawkins – 1km time trial
Silver: Campbell Stewart – Points race
Silver: Campbell Stewart – Scratch race
Bronze: Jacob Schmid – Sprint
Bronze: Edward Dawkins – Keirin
Bronze: Nathan Hart, Jacob Schmid, Patrick Constable and Matthew Glaetzer – team sprint
Bronze: Dylan Kennett

Gold: Stephanie Morton – Sprint
Gold: Stephanie Morton – Keirin
Gold: Kaarle McCulloch – 500m time trial
Gold: Kaarle McCulloch and Stephanie Morton – Team sprint
Gold: Amy Cure – Scratch race
Gold: Alex Manly, Annette Edmondson, Ashlee Ankudinoff and Amy Cure – Team pursuit
Silver: Natasha Hansen – Sprint
Silver: Kaarle McCulloch – Keirin
Silver: Stephanie Morton – 500m time trial
Silver: Natasha Hansen and Emma Cumming – Team sprint
Silver: Rebecca Wiasak – Individual pursuit
Silver: Kirstie James, Rushlee Buchanan, Racquel Sheath and Bryony Botha – Team pursuit
Bronze: Kaarle McCulloch – Sprint
Bronze: Natasha Hansen – Keirin
Bronze: Emma Cumming – 500m time trial
Bronze: Annette Edmondson – Individual pursuit

Bronze: Thomas Clarke and Brad Henderson – Tandem sprint
Bronze: Thomas Clarke and Brad Henderson – Tandem 1km time trial

Mountain Bike

Gold: Samuel Gaze – Cross-country
Silver: Anton Cooper – Cross-country