Rebecca Petch and Bodi Turner claim 2022 Oceania BMX titles

New Zealand’s Rebecca Petch and Australia’s Bodi Turner have tasted elite success at the 2022 Oceania BMX Championships at the Sleeman BMX Track in Brisbane. Part of the inaugural combined Oceania Championships in Brisbane, Queensland hosted by the Oceania Cycling Confederation, AusCycling, Tourism and Events Queensland and Brisbane Economic Development Agency from 19 March – April 10, 2022, as a part of the Brisbane Cycling Festival presented by King St.

Tokyo Olympian, Rebecca Petch who claimed gold in the team sprint at the Oceania Track Championships last week, was dominant in her preferred discipline to look untouchable through the rounds. Petch claimed her first elite title having finished on the podium at the last three Championships. Australia filled the remaining spots on the podium with Erin Lockwood and Gemma-lee Thomas.

Bodi Turner went one better than the 2015 Championships to claim a maiden title in the elite men’s category, in what would be an all Australian podium with Matt Krasevskis and Max Cairns picking up silver and bronze.

Desree Barnes (Australia) claimed the first ever under 23 Oceania title ahead of Baylee Luttrell (New Zealand) and Kiana Botfield (Australia). In the under 23 men’s it was Jack Davis of Australia taking gold ahead of Kyle Hill (Australia) and Bennett Greenough (New Zealand).

Junior success was tasted by Leila Walker of New Zealand, who won the women’s crown ahead of countrywoman Megan Williams, as Bella May (Australia) completed the podium. Joel Marsh (Australia) was too strong in the junior men’s ahead of Jack Greenough (New Zealand) and Tristan Scott (Australia).

The Oceania Championships continue over the weekend with the road time trial on Saturday and road race and BMX Freestyle on Sunday.

2022 Oceania BMX Medallists
Elite Women
GOLD: Rebecca Petch (New Zealand)
SILVER: Erin Lockwood (Australia)
BRONZE: Gemma-lee Thomas (Australia)

Elite Men
GOLD: Bodi Turner (Australia)
SIVLER: Matt Krasevskis (Australia)
BRONZE: Max Cairns (Australia)

Under 23 Women
GOLD: Desree Barnes (Australia)
SIVLER: Baylee Luttrell (New Zealand)
BRONZE: Kiana Botfield (Australia)

Under 23 Men
GOLD: Jack Davis (Australia)
SIVLER: Kyle Hill (Australia)
BRONZE: Bennett Greenough (New Zealand)

Junior Women
GOLD: Leila Walker (New Zealand)
SIVLER: Megan Williams (New Zealand)
BRONZE: Bella May (Australia)

Junior Men
GOLD: Joel Marsh (Australia)
SIVLER: Jack Greenough (New Zealand)
BRONZE: Tristan Scott (Australia)

Full Results