Records continue to fall on day two of 2024 Oceania Track Championships

Two more records fell as Australia and New Zealand split the elite titles on the second day of competition at the 2024 Oceania Track Championships in Cambridge, New Zealand.

Fresh from being named New Zealand Sportsman of the Year at the Halberg Awards on Wednesday, Aaron Gate celebrated by smashing his own Oceania record in the men’s individual pursuit. The Kiwi great stopped the clock in 4mins 6.468secs shaving move than half a second off the existing mark and reclaimed the title he won in 2022.

Bryony Botha (New Zealand) raced away to gold in the women’s individual pursuit, claiming the title for the third year in a row with a time of 3mins 21.175secs. Emily Shearman and Nicole Shields completed the podium giving hosts New Zealand a clean sweep.

Australia’s Matthew Richardson claimed back to back sprint titles in a convincing display by the World Championship medallist. In qualifying Richardson broke the Oceania Championship Record with a time of 9.494, adding the honour to his Oceania Record. Silver went to teammate Leigh Hoffman with 2022 under 19 champion Ryan Elliott completing the podium.

Kristina Clonan won her maiden Oceania sprint crown to give the rising Australian star a complete set of sprint medals to go with her team sprint (2022), 500m time trial (2022) and keirin (2021 and 2022) titles. 2018 under 19 champion Shaane Fulton collected silver with Alessia McCaig the bronze.

In under 19 events it was Magnus Jamieson (New Zealand) and Oscar Gallagher (Australia) who claimed the titles in the men’s elimination race and scratch races respectively. With Lilyth Jones (Australia) taking out the women’s elimination and Ella Liang (Australia) the women’s scratch race.

The first para titles were decided in the individual pursuit with gold medals going to Devon Briggs (New Zealand) in the men’s C3, Ben Westenberg (New Zealand) in the C4 and Leuan Edwards (New Zealand) in the C5. In women’s events Unity Collins (New Zealand) won the tandem, Sarah Ellington (New Zealand) the C3, Anna Taylor (New Zealand) the C4 and Nicole Murray (New Zealand) the C5.

Results – Full Results
Elite Men Sprint
Gold: Matthew Richardson (Australia) 9.494 – Oceania Championship Record
Silver: Leigh Hoffman (Australia)
Bronze: Ryan Elliott (Australia)

Elite Men Individual Pursuit
Gold: Aaron Gate (New Zealand) 4:06.468 – Oceania Record
Silver: Marshall Erwood (New Zealand)

Elite Women Sprint
Gold: Kristina Clonan (Australia)
Silver: Shaane Fulton (New Zealand)
Bronze: Alessia McCaig (Australia)

Elite Women Individual Pursuit
Gold: Bryony Botha (New Zealand)
Silver: Emily Shearman (New Zealand)
Bronze: Nicole Shields (New Zealand)

Junior Men Elimination Race
Gold: Magnus Jamieson (New Zealand)
Silver: Lucas Bhimy (New Zealand)
Bronze: Hunter Dalton (New Zealand)

Junior Men Scratch Race
Gold: Oscar Gallagher (Australia)
Silver: Magnus Jamieson (New Zealand)
Bronze: Luke Richert (Australia)

Junior Women Elimination Race
Gold: Lilyth Jones (Australia)
Silver: Elena Worrall (New Zealand)
Bronze: Hayley Dell (Australia)

Junior Women Scratch Race
Gold: Ella Liang (Australia)
Silver: Hayley Dell (Australia)
Bronze: Elena Worrall (New Zealand)

Para Individual Pursuit
Men C3: Devon Briggs (New Zealand)
Men C4: Ben Westenberg (New Zealand)
Men C5: Leuan Edwards (New Zealand)
Women B: Unity Collins (New Zealand)
Women C2: Sarah Ellington (New Zealand)
Women C4: Anna Taylor (New Zealand)
Women C5: Nicole Murray (New Zealand)