Records fall as Gate, Andrews, Glaetzer and Moran claim titles on day to of the 2022 Oceania Track Championships

Records continued to fall on the second day of competition at the 2022 Oceania Track Championships at the Anna Meares Velodrome in Brisbane. Part of the inaugural combined Oceania Championships in Brisbane, Queensland hosted by the Oceania Cycling Confederation, AusCycling, Tourism and Events Queensland and Brisbane Economic Development Agency from 19 March – April 11, 2022, as a part of the Brisbane Cycling Festival presented by King St.

Australia and New Zealand each claimed three elite titles on the second day of competition, and Australia won all five under 19 events. Conor Leahy (Australia) set a new Oceania Record in the individual pursuit and Championship Records fell in the elite and under 19 men’s sprint and under 19 men’s individual pursuit. Aaron Gate added two more titles bringing his Championship tally to three, Matthew Glaetzer and Ellesse Andrews added a second gold and now hold the sprint and keirin doubles. While Chloe Moran was in strong form picking up two bunch race wins.

New Zealand’s Aaron Gate produced one of the rides of his career to beat defending champion and Oceania Record holder Leahy in the individual pursuit. Leahy had lowered his own Oceania Record to 4mins 7.356secs in qualifying, with Gate three and a half seconds slower. In the final it was Gate who held a narrow advantage over the opening kilometre before their times were locked halfway through the race. Gate was too strong at the backend as he powered home to finish in 4mins 8.482secs for a new New Zealand Record. Jordan Kerby (New Zealand) completed the podium.

Gate would later claim his second title of the day and third of the Championships with a win in the scratch race, ahead of Australian pair Blake Agnoletto and Josh Duffy.

Olympic silver medallist Ellesse Andrews (New Zealand) continued her dominant form to storm away to victory in the keirin, defending her title from the 2020 Championships. With more than a lap to go she surged to the front and her endurance background allowed her to hold off Kristina Clonan (Australia) who again had to settle for silver. Bronze went to Kalinda Robinson (Australia), a multiple Oceania Champion as a junior.

In the men’s sprint Matt Glaetzer claimed his sixth Oceania sprint title, having set a new Oceania Championship Record of 9.521secs in qualifying. Matt Richardson collected his second silver of the week with former under 19 medallist Thomas Cornish made it an all Australian podium.

Chloe Moran of Australia produced two dominant displays in bunch races. Having become the first ever Oceania Elimination Champion in the morning session ahead of teammates Alex Martin-Wallace as Nicola MacDonald, she returned to the track hunting a second gold in the points race. Moran was strategic throughout the 80 laps race picking up points across the sprint, before winning the final to turn a six-point deficit in to a four point win to take the title. New Zealand pair Bryony Botha and Prudence Fowler completed the podium.

In under 19 events, Australia’s Ryan Elliott set a new Oceania Championship Record of 10.170secs to claim gold in the sprint, his second title of the Championships after winning the keirin on day one. In the individual Pursuit Cameron Rogers (Australia) won gold having set a new Championship Record of 3mins 13.271secs in qualifying. Tarun Cook (Australia) claimed scratch hold. In women’s under 19 events Meg Marker (Australia) claimed gold in both the keirin and points race.

2022 Oceania Track Medallists
Elite Men Sprint
GOLD: Matthew Glaetzer (Australia) 9.521 – Oceania Championship Record (Qualifying)
SILVER: Matthew Richardson (Australia)
BRONZE: Thomas Cornish (Australia)

Elite Men Individual Pursuit
GOLD: Aaron Gate (New Zealand)
SILVER: Conor Leahy (Australia) 4:07.356 – Oceania Record (Qualifying)
BRONZE: Jordan Kerby (New Zealand)

Elite Men Scratch Race
GOLD: Aaron Gate (New Zealand)
SILVER: Blake Agnoletto (Australia)
BRONZE: Josh Duffy (Australia)

Elite Women Keirin
GOLD: Ellesse Andrews (New Zealand)
SILVER: Kristina Clonan (Australia)
BRONZE: Kalinda Robinson (Australia)

Elite Women Points Race
GOLD: Chloe Moran (Australia)
SILVER: Bryony Botha (New Zealand)
BRONZE: Prudence Fowler (New Zealand)

Elite Women Elimination Race
GOLD: Chloe Moran (Australia)
SILVER: Alex Martin-Wallace (Australia)
BRONZE: Nicola MacDonald (Australia)

Under 19 Men Sprint
GOLD: Ryan Elliott (Australia) 10.170 – Oceania Championship Record (Qualifying)
SILVER: Maxwell Liebeknecht (Australia)
BRONZE: Liam Cavanagh (New Zealand)

Under 19 Men Individual Pursuit
GOLD: Cameron Rogers (Australia) 3:13.271 – Oceania Championship Record (Qualifying)
SILVER: Leo Zimmermann (Australia)
BRONZE: Dylan Proctor-Parker (Australia)

Under 19 Men Scratch Race
GOLD: Tarun Cook (Australia)
SILVER: Noah Blannin (Australia)
BRONZE: Leo Zimmermann (Australia)

Under 19 Women Keirin
GOLD: Meg Marker (Australia)
SILVER: Emma Stevens (Australia)
BRONZE: Lily Stratford (Australia)

Under 19 Women Points Race
GOLD: Meg Marker (Australia)
SILVER: Sophie Marr (Australia)
BRONZE: Keira Will (Australia)

Full Results