Samoa welcomed as 10th member of Oceania Cycling Confederation

The Oceania Cycling Confederation (OCC) is pleased to welcome Samoa as one of two new Member Nations officially recognised at the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) Congress in Yorkshire, Great Britain. 196 National Cycling Federations are now affiliated with the UCI.

The admission of Samoa today, following the affiliation of Northern Mariana Islands as an Associate Member in June, grows the number of National Federations in the OCC to 10, comprising seven Full Members and three Associate Members from across the Oceania region.

“The UCI and OCC welcome Samoa and the Northern Mariana Islands as member nations and I look forward to continuing to work with both nations to grow cycling in the Oceania Region,” said Oceania Cycling Confederation President and UCI Management Committee Member Tracey Gaudry.

“National Federation Membership growth continues to be a strategically important focus for the UCI and OCC and forms a key part of the OCC Pacific Development Plan which includes the ambition for cycling to be introduced into the Pacific Games.”

Both Samoa and the Northern Mariana Islands hold races as part of the Oceania Pacific Open Road and Mountain Bike Calendar. The OCC will look to build on the existing cooperation and relationships to develop cycling across the Pacific.

The past three years have been a time of growth for the OCC with New Caledonia becoming an Associate Member in 2017 and the Cook Islands officially welcomed as a Full Member in Hamilton, New Zealand at the OCC Congress and AGM in January 2019.

About the Oceania Cycling Confederation
The Oceania Cycling Confederation (OCC) is recognised by the Union Cycliste International (UCI) as the regional governing body for the sport of cycling for the continent of Oceania and is one of five Continental Confederations. Membership of the OCC is made up of seven Full Members – Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji, Guam, New Zealand, Samoa and Vanuatu and three Associate Members – New Caledonia, Northern Mariana Islands and Tahiti.