Stewart and Baker and Scott and Porter claim Madison titles as Glaetzer and Morton add more gold at 2019 Oceania Track Championships

The final day of competition at the 2019 Oceania Track Championships at the Adelaide Super-Drome saw Australia’s Macey Stewart claim back to back Madison titles partnering with Georgia Baker, in the men’s Madison Cameron Scott and Alex Porter snared the title.

World class sprinters were also in action with Matthew Glaetzer (Australia) taking his second gold of the week this time in the keirin and Stephanie Morton taking a third by winning the sprint.

With 40 titles awarded over four days Oceania’s best cyclists from Australia and New Zealand made a strong start to the 2019 track season, the first in the qualifying process for the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games, with Many of the elite riders heading to Paris, France ahead of the opening Tissot UCI Track World Cup of the season next weekend.

Women’s Madison

Macey Stewart claimed back to back Madison gold becoming the first rider to claim two Oceania titles in the event. Stewart partnered with Georgia Baker to give Australia their third consecutive gold in the event on 35 points, two clear of Annette Edmondson and Ashlee Ankudinoff (Australia). New Zealand’s Michaela Drummond and Rushlee Buchanan collected bronze on 29 after being the main rivals to Stewart and Baker during the first half of the race.

“It feels really good. I am not in the best shape at the moment just coming back on the track after a busy year travelling and losing a bit of my track legs,” a delighted Stewart said.

“The last couple of days I have been sort of feeling a lot more comfortable on my bike again which is really good for the future. I’m heading to the Paris World Cup tomorrow and racing the Madison there with Kristina Clonan. So, this is really exciting and a bit of a confidence boost heading in to that one.

“A big confidence boost to go back to back in my favourite event. Very exciting it is an Olympic event now as it has always been my favourite event so really exciting to focus on it over the next couple of years and give it a crack to try and get selected for the Olympics.”

Men’s Madison

Australia’s Cameron Scott and Alex Porter were in control throughout the 160 lap men’s Madison to clock up points across the sprints finishing on 47, 12 clear of New Zealand’s Aaron Wylie and defending champion Tom Sexton on 35. Godfrey Slattery and Conor Leahy (Australia) completed the podium a further four points back.

Men’s Keirin

There was to be no denying Australia’s Matthew Glaetzer a second title of the week as he stormed home in front of an elated home crowd to win the Oceania keirin title for the fourth time. Silver went to 2015 champion Jacob Schmid (Australia) who chased Glaetzer all the way home. After initially crossing the line third Thomas Clarke (Australia) was relegated promoting New Zealand’s Sam Dakin on to the podium with bronze.

Women’s Sprint

With team sprint and sprint gold to her name this week Stephanie Morton (Australia) was the hot favourite for the women’s sprint and she did not disappoint setting a new Championship Record in qualifying to top the standings in 10.593secs.

After a bye in the 1/8 finals Morton dispatched Lara Tucker (Australia) in the quarterfinals before booking a spot in the ride for gold over Olivia Podmore (New Zealand). In the final Morton was too strong for Natasha Hansen (New Zealand) who claimed a sprint medal for the fifth time. Bronze went to Kaarle McCulloch (Australia), her third medal of the week after time trial and team sprint gold.

Under 19

Kurt Eather (Australia) claimed gold in the men’s points race ahead of Laurencie Pithie (New Zealand) and Alastair MacKellar (Australia). The women’s Madison title was taken out but Ashlee Jones and Lauren Robards, just the second winners at the Oceania Championships, with silver to Eva Parkinson and Emily Paterson (New Zealand) and bronze Ella Sibley and Katarina Chung-Orr (Australia).

In the scratch races in was Elizabeth Nuspan leading home an all Australian podium with Ella Sibley and Dharlia Haines and in the men’s it was another trip to the top step of the podium for Eather who sprinted home ahead of Graeme Firslee (Australia) and Pithie.

Heather May (Australia) grabbed gold in the sprint beating out Eliza Bennett (Australia) in the race for gold, with Tia Slama (Australia) picking up bronze. While in the men’s keirin Sam Gallagher (Australia) produced a huge turn of speed in a closely matched final to claim the title ahead of Declan Key (Australia) and John Trovas (Australia).