Taruia Krainer wins 2018 Tour Tahiti Nui

Taruia Krainer emerged victorious at the 2018 Tour Tahiti Nui, part of the 2018 Oceania Cycling Confederation Pacific Open Road and Mountain Bike Calendar. I was his second overall title as the race celebrated a successful 24th edition. The under 23 title went to Nicholas Simpson and the masters title to David Schavits.

“The 24th edition of Tour Tahiti Nui was a success. We counted 50 riders from Australia, France, Chile, New Caledonia and locals,” said Federation Tahitienne de Cyclisme President Teva Bernadino.

The six stage race opening with a prologue in Mardi, on the east cost of Tahiti with David Schavits of New Caledonia taking the first race leaders jersey.

Stage two saw race winner Taruia Krainer take the first of his stage wins in a row with victory in Mairie de Punaauia before adding the next two stages in Belvedere Pirae and Belvedere to his name.

Kahiri Endeler picked up the penultimate stage with an uphill victory on the summit of the Pamatai Hills.

The race came to an exciting conclusions and locals turned out in their hundreds to watch Taruia Krainer take his fourth stage win of the week to seal the overall victory on the waterfront in Papeete.

General Classification
1 Taruia Krainer
2 Julien Buisson
3 Maxime Urruty

Under 23 Classification
1 Nicholas Simpson
2 Rayann Lacheny
3 Kahiri Endeler

Masters Classification
1 David Schavits
2 Luis Sepulveda
3 Serge Dunoyer

King of the Mountains – Taruia Krainer
Sprint – Maxime Urruty
Team – New Caledonia