Wollaston, Gate, Richardson and Clonan taste more success at 2024 Oceania Track Championships

Ally Wollaston, Aaron Gate, Matthew Richardson and Kristina Clonan added to their collection of Oceania titles with wins on day three of the 2024 Oceania Track Championships in Cambridge, New Zealand.

New Zealand star Wollaston was dominant in elite women’s omnium to take out her first omnium title ahead of teammate and two time defending champion Bryony Botha. Emily Shearman made it an all New Zealand podium with bronze.

In the elite men’s omnium Gate reclaimed his crown having twice won the title previously in 2017 and 2022. Silver went to Graeme Frislie (Australia) and bronze Marshall Erwood (New Zealand).

Richardson and Clonan both successfully defending their keirin titles. Richardson was too strong for teammate Thomas Cornish and New Zealand’s Sam Dakin in the men’s. While Clonan lead an all Australian podium ahead of Alessia McCaig and Deneaka Blinco.

In under 19 events New Zealand’s Hunter Dalton, Matthew Davidson, Magnus Jamieson and Daniel Morton took out the men’s team pursuit. While Xavier Bland, Noah Mason and Tatye Ryan of Australia equalled the Oceania Championship Record in the men’s team sprint in 45.873secs.

Morton added to his gold medal haul with victory in the points race. Liliya Tatarinoff (Australia) lowered her own Oceania Championship Record with a time of 35.260secs in the 500m time trial and Hayley Dell and Lilyth Jones won the Madison.

Para-cyclists contested the time trials with titles going to Devon Briggs (New Zealand) in the men’s C3, Ben Westenberg (New Zealand) in the C4 and Leuan Edwards (New Zealand). Unity Collins (New Zealand) won the women’s tandem with Sarah Ellington (New Zealand) taking the C2, Anna Taylor (New Zealand) the C4 and Nicole Murray (New Zealand) the C5.

Results – Full Results
Elite Men Omnium
Gold: Aaron Gate (New Zealand)
Silver: Graeme Frislie (Australia)
Bronze: Marshall Erwood (New Zealand)

Elite Men Keirin
Gold: Matthew Richardson (Australia)
Silver: Thomas Cornish (Australia)
Bronze: Sam Dakin (New Zealand)

Elite Women Omnium
Gold: Ally Wollaston (New Zealand)
Silver: Bryony Botha (New Zealand)
Bronze: Emily Shearman (New Zealand)

Elite Women Keirin
Gold: Kirstina Clonan (Australia)
Silver: Alessia McCaig (Australia)
Bronze: Deneaka Blinco (Australia)

Junior Men Team Pursuit
Gold: New Zealand – Hunter Dalton, Matthew Davidson, Magnus Jamieson and Daniel Morton
Silver: Australia – Oscar Gallagher, Kai Goltman, Liam Goltman and Luke Richert
Bronze: New Zealand – Lucas Bhimy, Kane Foster, Bernard Pawson and Zane Wyllie

Junior Men Team Sprint
Gold: Australia – Xavier Bland, Noah Mason and Tatye Ryan 45.873 – Equal Oceania Championship Record
Silver: Australia – Kai Arberry, Mitchell Louie and Reuben Smith
Bronze: New Zealand – Wolf Pene, Edward Sims and Flynn Underwood

Junior Men Points Race
Gold: Daniel Morton (New Zealand)
Silver: Matthew Davidson (New Zealand)
Bronze: Bernard Pawson (New Zealand)

Junior Women 500m Time Trial
Gold: Liliya Tatarinoff (Australia) 35.260 – Oceania Championship Record
Silver: Caitlin Kelly (New Zealand)
Bronze: Jodie Blackwood (New Zealand)

Junior Women Madison
Gold: Australia – Hayley Dell and Lilyth Jones
Silver: New Zealand – Hannah Paine and Elena Worrall
Bronze: Australia – Caitlin Rose and Sonia Vetisch

Para Time Trial
Men C3: Devon Briggs (New Zealand)
Men C4: Ben Westenberg (New Zealand)
Men C5: Leuan Edwards (New Zealand)
Women B: Unity Collins (New Zealand)
Women C2: Sarah Ellington (New Zealand)
Women C4: Anna Taylor (New Zealand)
Women C5: Nicole Murray (New Zealand)